Advisory Council

Home | About Us | Advisory Council
Advisory Council

The Area 1 Agency on Aging Advisory Council is composed of members of the Humboldt-Del Norte community. Each Council Member is elected to a three-year term and may re-apply for up to two additional three-year terms.

The Council is the advisory arm of the Area 1 Agency on Aging.  In support of the Agency's mission to develop and coordinate community-based services for all seniors in Humboldt and Del Norte counties, the Council advises the Agency as it:

  • develops and administers the Area Plan;
  • conducts public hearings;
  • represents the interests of seniors.

Federal regulations require the Advisory Council to serve as advocate for the elderly.  In support of this mandate, members of the Council review, comment on, and publicly advocate for or against policies, proposals, initiatives, regulations, programs or actions which affect older people.

Advisory Council meetings are held the 1st Wednesday of every other month from 10:30AM-12:00PM at the Area 1 Agency on Aging conference room.  Meetings are open to the public.  At the beginning of each meeting there is an opportunity for public comment.

Click here to view Advisory Council Agendas

Area 1 Agency on Aging Advisory Council 2019-2020

President: Sylvia Shaw
Vice President: April Joyce 
Del Norte County Supervisor Lori Cowan
Humboldt County Supervisor Estelle Fennell
Valeria Martinez
Marissa O'Neill
Laurel Watson


TO APPLY TO BE A MEMBER OF THE A1AA ADVISORY COUNCIL, contact Maren Rose, Planner/Contract Manager at (707) 442-3763, ext. 208.